RRC Career Exploration Workbook

These last few English classes were kind of interesting. We’ve explored the idea of career exploration in Red River College’s Career Exploration Workbook. This booklet is for people who don’t necessarily know what they want to be when they grow up. The workbook explores personality, values, and interests in the form of short quizzes and surveys.

 

Interest Exercise:

The first job I found interesting was Computer Programmer because I’m not a “blue-collar job” type of person, repetitive work isn’t my forte. Computer programming is creative, uses lots of brain power and pays very well. Another potential choice is a high school teacher because I love working with people, plus I love teaching people new ideas and concepts in creative ways. Plus, as an added bonus, teachers get really great holidays. And finally, I found the career Graphic Designer interesting because creating digital art is one of my big passions. Graphic designers combine creative side of the brain, with the logical and orderly side of the brain. They get to try new things and no two days are the same.

 

In this activity, we looked at different occupations and circled the ones that interested us the most. Based on what I chose, my interests are mostly in the Artistic category. People interested in art are described to “prefer unstructured situations, (be) self-expressive, impulsive, creative, change oriented, intuitive, nonconforming (and) independent”.

 

Personality Exercise.

Based on my choices, ten words I can use to describe my personality in an interview or cover letter are:

  1. Adaptable
  2. Analytical
  3. Creative
  4. Dominant
  5. Efficient
  6. Humourous
  7. Industrious
  8. Intelligent
  9. Organized
  10. Teachable

 

Values Exercise
Looking at different statements about what is important for me in a job (example, having a lot of freedom or being in a competitive environment), I found I value variety, social recognition and prestige, a place of leadership, to help society, intellectual stimulation, working with others, creativity, job security and flexibility.

Leave a Reply

